The ISIS Definition of Who Lives and Who Dies

Great thoughts on responding to ISIS biblically. Living in this American cushion, it’s almost shameful for me to comment on what’s happening to Christian brothers and sisters in other lands.

But I can’t help but think of Peter’s words to Christians living under deadly persecution in the first century.

Beloved, do not be surprised at the fiery trial when it comes upon you to test you, as though something strange were happening to you. But rejoice insofar as you share Christ’s sufferings, that you may also rejoice and be glad when his glory is revealed. (‭1 Peter‬ ‭4‬:‭12-13‬ ESV)

Marilyn R. Gardner

I woke to the news that 21 Coptic Christians from Egypt were beheaded by ISIS on a beach in Tripoli. That ISIS would pick a beautiful place by the ocean to carry out this heinous act feels particularly galling.

God’s creation in all its beauty juxtaposed with man, made in the image of God, in all his free-willed horror.

The news did not even make it to the front page of the New York Times.

We are in a world where a terrorist organization decides who lives and who dies and it’s no longer front page news.

I have few words for this horror. I have had the privilege of living in Egypt, of going to the homes, churches, and monasteries of Coptic Christians. These are my brothers and sisters in faith. It hurts my soul.

But if I am honest, in my heart every day I make the kind…

View original post 125 more words

Leave a Reply

